Posted by: dopaminedialogue | 12/06/2009

Going Public

It is with a great deal of excitement that I announce the birth of Dopamine Dialogue, my addiction blog. I’m extremely excited about going public with it. Most of you who know me or have worked with me know that I am profoundly passionate about the topic of addiction and you also may or may not know that I enjoy writing as well, specifically writing that sheds light on any issue of little understanding to the general public.

I’ve been searching for more ways to channel this passion and on Wednesday, December 2, 2009, it hit me like a lightening-bolt – “that’s it!”. On that day, a friend (bless you) suggested that I start a blog and from that moment forward I have been intensely focused on the project. In fact (see my first post), I was addicted to the idea! Finally, I have a means of reaching others beyond the select few that I treat every day – and, I have a means of channeling my passion along with with a specific, important purpose: to eradicate the stigma of addiction that causes so many to hide and not seek help (Did you know that only 10% of people with addiction problems end up seeking help? This is mind-boggling when I think about the number of patients I’ve seen that do seek help – to think that 90% more are still out there struggling!).

It is also my mission that this site become a means of finding some clarity in a world of confusion surrounding the issue of addiction.  In the coming days, weeks, months (years?), I will be adding content, links, resources, and revising what is already here…so keep that in mind (and I am OPEN to suggestions, indeed). It is, and will continue to be, just like me, A WORK IN PROGRESS.

I hope that you find something helpful here.

Responses

  1. Congrats Michelle! This blog is going to be a great resource! January is my 10 year anniversary working in the Addiction field and I too am passionate about the treatment and recovery of persons dealing with this brain disorder.

    I administrate a grant on Addiction called The Southern Coast Addiction Technology Transfer Center which is a resource for professionals in the field. http://www.nattc.org


Leave a Reply

Categories

